The Camp was founded in 1958 by Bill Williams BEM, a local policeman, as a week long respite for boys. The Women’s Voluntary Service in Wolverhampton sent 20 boys for their first experience of the countryside in 1959. Farm buildings and agricultural vehicles loaned by local farmers served as makeshift camp sites and transport. Health & Safety hadn’t been invented back then!
Getting around in cattle truck (L) and one lad’s getting into the swing of things (R)By the 1970’s our summer camps were legendary! Then, two, 1 week camps (up to 30 boys each) ran every year. The boys came from the Black Country and Shropshire. In 1978 charitable funding enabled the purchase of a dedicated, 1.75 acre campsite which remains our home today – albeit a little more sophisticated!
“Skipper” Bill Williams gave the lads choice of activities on Sunday mornings – either stay at the Camp spud bashing (L) or (R) go to church in the back of a farm truck!
Personal hygiene was important with local pools serving as baths (L) and washing stations back at base (R)
Split into tent groups – points were won and lost for tidiness (L) and everyone, well almost everyone, had to muck in (R)
Plenty of outdoor activities – sack race course with string lanes (L) and a brisk uphill walk (R)
No Camp was complete without an impromptu fancy dress competition (L) and finally a group photograph before heading home (R)